Friday, October 17, 2008


A record 67 countries (63 last year), including first-time entrant Jordan, have submitted feature films for Oscar® consideration in the Best Foreign Language Film (BFLF) category for the 81st Academy Awards® for Best Foreign Language Film of 2008.

In June, the Academy invited 95 countries to submit a film in the category. The deadline to receive the application and all supporting material was 1 October. Selected committees will now select a short list from which five films will be nominated by those in the full Academy membership who can certify they have seen all five films nominated. [This post is also in the link on the right sidebar from now until next year.]

The 2008 submissions, along with director(s) are:

Afghanistan, OPIUM WAR, Siddiq Barmak;
Albania, THE SORROW OF MRS. SCHNEIDER, Piro Milkani and Eno Milkani;
Algeria, MASQUERADES, Lyes Salem;
Argentina, LION'S DEN, Pablo Trapero;
Austria, REVANCHE, Gotz Spielmann;
Azerbaijan, FORTRESS, Shamil Nacafzada;
Bangladesh, AHA!, Enamul Karim Nirjhar;
Belgium, ELDORADO, Bouli Lanners;
Bosnia and Herzegovina, SNOW, Aida Begic;
Brazil, LAST STOP 174, Bruno Barreto;
Bulgaria, ZIFT, Javor Gardev;
Canada, THE NECESSITIES OF LIFE, Benoit Pilon;
Chile, TONY MANERO, Pablo Larrain;
China, DREAM WEAVERS, Jun Gu, director;
Colombia, DOG EAT DOG, Carlos Moreno;
Croatia, NO ONE'S SON, Arsen Anton Ostojic;
Czech Republic, THE KARAMAZOVS, Petr Zelenka;
Denmark, WORLDS APART, Niels Arden Oplev;
Egypt, THE ISLAND, Sherif Arafa;
Estonia, I WAS HERE, Rene Vilbre;
Finland, THE HOME OF DARK BUTTERFLIES, Dome Karukoski;
France, THE CLASS, Laurent Cantet;
Georgia, MEDIATOR, Dito Tsintsadze;
Greece, CORRECTION, Thanos Anastopoulos;
Hong Kong, PAINTED SKIN, Gordon Chan;
Hungary, ISKA'S JOURNEY, Csaba Bollok;
Iceland, WHITE NIGHT WEDDING, Baltasar Kormakur;
India, TAARE ZAMEEN PAR, Aamir Khan;
Israel, WALTZ WITH BASHIR, Ari Folman;
Italy, GOMORRA, Matteo Garrone;
Japan, DEPARTURES, Yojiro Takita;
Jordan, CAPTAIN ABU RAED, Amin Matalqa;
Kazakhstan, TULPAN, Sergey Dvortsevoy;
Korea, CROSSING, Tae-kyun Kim;
Kyrgyzstan, HEAVENS BLUE, Marie Jaoul de Poncheville;
Latvia, DEFENDERS OF RIGA, Aigars Grauba;
Lebanon, UNDER THE BOMBS, Philippe Aractingi;
Lithuania, LOSS, Maris Martinsons;
Luxembourg, NUITS D'ARABIE, Paul Kieffer;
Macedonia, I’M FROM TITOV VELES, Teona Strugar Mitevska;
Mexico, TEAR THIS HEART OUT, Roberto Sneider;
Morocco, GOODBYE MOTHERS, Mohamed Ismail;
The Netherlands, DUNYA & DESIE, Dana Nechushtan;
Norway, O’HORTEN, Bent Hamer;
Palestine, SALT OF THIS SEA, Annemarie Jacir;
Philippines, PLONING, Dante Nico Garcia;
Poland, TRICKS, Andrzej Jakimowski;
Portugal, OUR BELOVED MONTH OF AUGUST, Miguel Gomes;
Romania, THE REST IS SILENCE, Nae Caranfil;
Russia, MERMAID, Anna Melikyan;
Serbia, THE TOUR, Goran Markovic;
Singapore, MY MAGIC, Eric Khoo;
Slovakia, BLIND LOVES, Juraj Lehotsky;
Slovenia, ROOSTER'S BREAKFAST, Marko Nabersnik;
South Africa, JERUSALEMA, Ralph Ziman;
Spain, THE BLIND SUNFLOWERS, Jose Luis Cuerda;
Switzerland, THE FRIEND, Micha Lewinsky;
Taiwan, CAPE NO. 7, Te-Sheng Wei;
Thailand, LOVE OF SIAM, Chookiat Sakveerakul;
Turkey, 3 MONKEYS, Nuri Bilge Ceylan;
Ukraine, ILLUSION OF FEAR, Aleksandr Kiriyenko;
United Kingdom, HOPE ETERNAL, Karl Francis;
Uruguay, KILL THEM ALL, Esteban Schroeder;
Venezuela, THE COLOR OF FAME, Alejandro Bellame Palacios.

Nominations for the 81st Academy Awards will be announced on Thursday, 22 January 2009, at 5:30 a.m., PT, in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2008 will be presented on Sunday, 22 February 2009, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center®, and televised live by the ABC Television Network. The Oscar presentation will be televised live in more than 200 countries worldwide.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting! Mimi