Thursday, December 13, 2007

Golden Globe Nomination for KITE RUNNER

THE KITE RUNNER movie (USA, directed by Marc Forster) is nominated for a Hollywood Foreign Press Association Golden Globe in the Best Foreign Film category. (Search KITE RUNNER in search box above for all my posts about this movie.) The movie received one other nomination, original score by Alberto Igleslias.

The nominations announced today included these other motion pictures in the Best Foreign Film category:

THE DIVING BELL and the BUTTERFLY (Le Scaphandre et le papillon, France, USA) directed by Julian Schnabel; 4 MONTHS, 3 WEEKS and 2 DAYS (4 luni, 3 saptamini si 2 zile, Romania) winner of the Cannes' Palm d'Or this past May, directed by Cristian Mungiu; LUST, CAUTION (Taiwan), directed by Ang Lee; and PERSEPOLIS (France, animated), directed by Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud.

4 MONTHS and PERSEPOLIS are officially submitted for Oscar® consideration in the Best Foreign Language Film (BFLF) category. France submitted PERSEPOLIS over DIVING BELL in the Oscar category as countries may submit only one movie. LUST, CAUTION was rejected by the Motion Picture Academy® in the BFLF category on a rules technicality, and THE KITE RUNNER could not qualify for submission in this Oscar category under the Academy rules.

THE KITE RUNNER is based on the 2003 novel of the same title by Khaled Hosseini, an awarding winning book that was at the top, or on the New York Times best-seller list for almost three years, and at the time of this posting, over 8 million copies have been sold.

The British period drama ATONEMENT led with seven nominations overall, including one in the Best Drama Movie category. Others in that category, which includes seven this year, are: AMERICAN GANGSTER, EASTERN PROMISES, THE GREAT DEBATERS, MICHAEL CLAYTON, NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN, and THERE WILL BE BLOOD.

The Musical / Comedy category has the traditional five nominees, and they are: ACROSS THE UNIVERSE, CHARLIE WILSON'S WAR, HAIRSPRAY, JUNO, and SWEENEY TODD.

Directors nominated:
Tim Burton for SWEENEY TODD; Ethan Coen, Joel Coen for NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN; Julian Schnabel for THE DIVING BELL and the BUTTERFLY; Ridley Scott for AMERICAN GANGSTER; and Joe Wright for ATONEMENT.

Steven Spielberg is the Cecil B. DeMille Award recipient.

The awards presentation is Sunday, 13 January 2008, a the Beverly Hilton Hotel, Beverly Hills, and will be broadcast live on NBC, 8:00 p.m., EST. To see the list of all nominees go here.

For more about other awards currently being given by organizations, film critics, and Hollywood guilds, see my Awards Page (link also on right sidebar).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting! Mimi