Monday, January 25, 2010

HURT, UP, COVE & PRECIOUS Receive Top PGA Awards

SERIES: Hollywood Guild Awards and Oscars®

THE HURT LOCKER, about a risk-taking bomb disposal technician, produced and directed by Kathryn Bigelow, was named best picture by the Producers Guild of American (PGA) at the 21st Annual PGA Awards ceremony held Sunday, 24 January 2010, at the Hollywood Palladium.

The PGA, a national non-profit trade group committed to protecting the rights and credits of producers in film, television and new media, honored the movie PRECIOUS: BASED ON THE NOVEL ‘PUSH’ BY SAPPHIRE with the 2010 Stanley Kramer Award.

Also, John Lasseter, Chief Creative Officer, Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios, and Principal Creative Advisor, Walt Disney Imagineering received the 2010 David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Motion Pictures. Lasseter is the first producer of animated films to be awarded the Selznick Award by the PGA and was the co-recipient of the PGA’s first-ever Vanguard Award in 2002.

Here are the winners with producers and directors in the best feature motion picture categories:

Feature Motion Picture: THE HURT LOCKER - producer & director Kathryn Bigelow.

Animated Theatrical Motion Picture: UP - Jonas Rivera, directed by Peter Doctor.

Documentary Theatrical Motion Picture: THE COVE - Paula DuPre Pesman, Fisher Stevens, and directed by Louie Psihoyos.

Also, must mention one TV show here. 30 Rock lost the Best TV Comedy title to Glee at the Screen Actors Guild Awards on Saturday, but it managed to take home Producers Guild Awards on Sunday. The award of Danny Thomas Producer of the Year went to the comedy's producers Lorne Michaels, Tina Fey and co., after they beat producers of Californication, Entourage, Weeds and The Office. Lorne Michaels also produces Saturday Night Live.

To see all the nominees and winners, click the title of this post.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting! Mimi